Nigeria Visa Types

Nigeria is a beautiful place that offers a lot of opportunities and interesting places. Foreigners who would like to visit this country need to remember to obtain a visa. There are many types of Nigerian visas:

  • Electronic visa available online
  • Visa on arrival
  • Tourist visa for tourism-related purposes
  • Business visa for business dealings
  • Transit visa for transiting in Nigeria
  • Diplomatic visa for diplomats
  • Official visa in case of official missions
  • Temporary work permit for purposes related to the job.

Check all the possibilities and choose the Nigerian visa that will meet your expectation. In this article, you can read more about the types of visas for Nigeria.

Nigeria Electronic visa

This type of visa can be obtained via online methods. It is a very useful option for foreign citizens who want to enter Nigeria without visiting the embassy.

There are 3 types of Nigerian online visas:

  • Single-entry visa which enables one to visit the country once during the visa validity (90 days).
  • Multiple-entry visa which enables visiting the country numerous times during a visa validity.
  • Transit visa valid for 7 days in case of transit in Nigeria.

An e-Visa can be used for travel, business, or transit purposes. To obtain it you need to prepare:

  • a valid passport (for at least 6 months)
  • a digital, recent photo of the face
  • an online visa application form with basic information about your trip and yourself
  • payment of the fee.

It is a time-saving and easy method available for the following countries:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Burma
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burundi
  • Bhutan
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Central African Republic
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Djibouti
  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Granada
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lesotho
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Morocco
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Macedonia
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippine
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • South Korea
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Tajikistan
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Western Sahara
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe.

Nigeria Visa on Arrival

Visa on arrival can be obtained at the Nigerian border on entry to the country, however, you need to have an approval letter and a valid passport.

You should take into consideration the fact that you may wait in the queue with this type of visa as many visitors decide to use this option.

Nigeria Tourist Visa

A tourist visa is a perfect choice for foreigners who travel to Nigeria for tourism, visiting friends or family, sightseeing, leisure, etc. It stays valid for 90 days and can't be used for employment purposes.

You can obtain this visa via the online system, but you will be asked to attach additional documents. Also, you can do it at the embassy. In both cases, you are required to have a valid passport and proof of payment of the fee.

Nigeria Business Visa

A business visa application process is very similar to a Tourist visa case. However, in this case, you need an invitation letter from a company located in Nigeria. This visa is also valid for 90 days but it cannot be extended.

What is more, a Business visa can be used for business meetings, conferences, events, etc. For more information, you should contact the Nigeria Immigration Service website.

Nigeria Transit Visas

A Transit visa is used in case of transiting in Nigeria. It means that travelers need to enter Nigeria in order to later reach their final destination. The period of stay can't exceed 7 days and you need to have an official passport to obtain it.

Nigeria Diplomatic Visa

A diplomatic visa is designed for people who need to deal with diplomatic missions in Nigeria. In this case, it is very important to have diplomatic or official passports.

What is more, as in the official visa case, it can be used by top officials and their families, holders of diplomatic passports, members of international organizations, and participants of diplomatic missions.

Nigeria Official Visa

This visa type is issued for people who were invited by the government. They need to provide the necessary documents proving that they are officials. Like in diplomatic visa case, a special passport is required during the application process.

Temporary Work Permit

The people who plan to go to Nigeria for work and have specialized skills need to apply for a Temporary work permit (TWP).

The whole process of application must be coordinated by the appropriate bodies. The company/agency is required to obtain a permit from the Comptroller General of Immigration (CGI) to invite the person.

Then, an applicant should fill in the online application form and contact the employer/organization for further information.

TWP is issued for the 3 months (can be extended) and it is perfect for people who repair machinery or equipment, audit accounts, and are involved in research or installation work.

Get help
5 days a week from 8am to 4pm (GMT+1)
or send inquiry:

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.

IATA logo

We’re an IATA member

International Air Transport Association (IATA) represents and serves air travel industry with advocacy and global standards for safety, security, efficiency.