Sri Lanka Replaces ETA with eVisa System

Sri Lanka has made a transition from the ETA scheme to the new eVisa system. All international visitors must now apply for an eVisa before their arrival in Sri Lanka.

Latest news

The Sri Lankan Department of Immigration and Emigration has launched a new visa system.

The previously operating ETA has been replaced with the eVisa system, which aims to enhance efficiency and cater to the needs of tourists and investors visiting Sri Lanka. 

Together with the implementation of the new visa platform, the government of Sri Lanka has also updated the requirements, fees, and validity periods of available visas. 

Sri Lanka eVisa – eligibility criteria 

  • eVisa requirements apply to all eligible nationals who plan to enter Sri Lanka either by air or sea for tourism, business, or transit;
  • Nationals of a few certain countries (Nigeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Syria, and North Korea) need to apply for a visa directly at the Sri Lankan embassy and are required to submit a number of supporting documents, including police clearance report, accommodation details, etc.;
  • Taiwanese nationals need to select the People's Republic of China (Special Administrative Region of China) as their nationality when applying for the Sri Lankan eVisa;
  • Citizens of Kosovo are eligible for Visa On Arrival only.

Visa-exempt countries

Sri Lankan authorities have made reciprocity agreements with several countries, including Singapore, the Maldives, Seychelles, and the Czech Republic.

Nationals of these countries are exempt from the requirement to apply for a tourist 6-month visa to travel to Sri Lanka. 

Additionally, all nationals can enjoy an eVisa waiver if they enter Sri Lanka only to transit through one of the country's airports. This transit visa waiver is valid only for two days.  

Requirements to apply for Sri Lanka eVisa

Applicants eligible for Sri Lanka tourist eVisa will be asked to provide the following: 

  • Scan/picture of the passport copy
  • Picture of yourself - front view
  • Port of Entry in Sri Lanka
  • Address of stay in Sri Lanka (including the phone number)

Moreover, depending on the electronic visa type, it may be necessary to provide other supporting documents.

Documents to be presented upon arrival in Sri Lanka

  • A printed copy of the eVisa approval letter issued by the Sri Lanka Department of Immigration and Emigration;
  • A passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry into Sri Lanka;
  • A return ticket or onward travel proof.

Nationals from the countries below also need to provide a yellow fever vaccination certificate on arrival in Sri Lanka to comply with international health regulations:

  • Angola, Argentina, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Peru, Rwanda, Sao Tome And Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Venezuela, Zaire.
Katarzyna Żyła

Latest news

Thailand to Restore Its Quarantine-free Scheme
Thailand Drops On-arrival Covid-19 Tests from May
Thailand to Drop Pre-arrival COVID-19 Tests for Vaccinated Visitors
Thailand to Remove Most Covid Travel Restrictions in July
Last Update to Thailand's Travel Restrictions Makes Traveling Easier

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.

IATA logo

We’re an IATA member

International Air Transport Association (IATA) represents and serves air travel industry with advocacy and global standards for safety, security, efficiency.