About travel with a Maltese passport

Maltese passport ranks 8th in the world according to the Henley Passport Index. It makes Maltese citizens one of the most privileged passport holders in the world.

Maltese passport opens to its holders the borders of the European Union and the member countries of the Schengen agreement.

Malta passport holders can also travel visa-free to many non-European destinations like Tanzania, Venezuela, Peru, Mexico, and many others.

It is impossible to forget about destinations to which the Maltese passport allows entry with an online or on-arrival visa. The former are 29 countries and the latter are 32.

Visa-free access can make traveling for Maltese citizens more pleasant

Have you ever dreamt of exploring a remote destination, but visa requirements stopped you from deciding to visit the country? Were discouraged by the long visa application procedure? Freedom of movement should turn your thoughts back to your dream journey.

Visa-free entry to certain countries makes traveling more pleasant. No visa-limited stay duration or a maximum number of entries to the country gives a possibility to enjoy exploring foreign locations without stress and rush. During long, unlimited travels you will meet interesting people and learn about their everyday life.

How to apply for a Maltese passport 

Applying for a Maltese passport is not a complicated procedure. The main requirement is being a citizen of the country. There are different ways of obtaining citizenship.

  • Becoming a Maltese Citizen by Descent — you’re born out of Malta, but your family resides in Malta.
  • Becoming a Maltese Citizen thanks to marriage to a Maltese citizen
  • Becoming a Maltese Citizen by naturalization
  • Getting citizenship by investment is one of the most popular in Europe. Those who make a real estate investment or financial contributions to a government fund may obtain a passport for themselves and their families.

As for the passport application procedure, you simply fill in a form and provide it with supporting documents to the passport office. You pay a fee, and your fingerprints are taken. If nothing stands in the way, your passport will be approved and ready to collect from the office.

The advantages of visa-free countries for Maltese people

Traveling to visa-free countries gives Maltese travelers freedom. There may be different aspects of it:

  • First of all, you can visit visa-free destinations whenever you want.
  • Second, you may stay in your destination country as long as your passport remains valid.
  • Last but not least, you save time and money as you avoid visa fees and numerous visits to embassies. No obligation to possess the visa helps to avoid stress connected with detailed border controls.

116 countries where Maltese passport holders don't need a visa

Malta passport visa-free countries

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • South Korea
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lesotho
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Here is also the list of 29 countries with available electronic visas, and 32 countries with a visa on arrival.

Visa on arrival countries

  • Papua New Guinea
  • Bahrain
  • Benin
  • Cambodia
  • Egypt
  • Gabon
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Comoros
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Lebanon
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Jordan

Electronic visa countries

  • Suriname
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Sudan
  • Angola
  • Azerbaijan
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • Guinea
  • Myanmar
  • Oman
  • Russia
  • Vietnam
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Bahrain
  • Benin
  • Cambodia
  • Egypt
  • Gabon
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sri Lanka


Where to find the list of visa-free countries?

There are lists of visa-free countries available on the internet or in embassies of destinated countries. Check your travel destination in person or via the internet. If it is enlisted among other visa-free countries, you may begin your travel preparation as you need only a passport to enter a foreign location you chose.

What if your destination is not a visa-free country?

If your travel destination doesn't offer visa-free access, you must apply for a visa before arriving in the country you intend to visit. Besides regular, paper visas, there is sometimes an option of applying for an online visa or a visa-on-arrival.

Check what options you have and take advantage of the largest possible conveniences to make your travel more pleasant.

Things to do before a trip to non-visa-free countries

First, make sure you have a valid passport. It cannot expire in less than 6 months. Next, check possible visa application methods (paper visa, online visa, on-arrival visa) and choose the best option for you.

When you get a travel permit, keep it together with a passport for the entire stay in a foreign destination to be ready to show it up every time you go through control.

Do you need to check the different visa requirements of each destination before traveling?

If you want to enjoy your travel to a foreign destination and not be surprised by entry complications, you should check the visa requirements before leaving for a journey.

When a travel destination you choose is not a visa-free country, you must apply for a travel permit well in advance, so you are time-limited at the very beginning of your travel.

On the other hand, visa-free access allows you to explore other countries whenever you want. That is why checking visa entry requirements before travel is the first thing you should do when you even start thinking of going to another place.

Bogdan T

Visa Requirements for Indonesian Citizens
Belgium Passport Visa-Free Countries
Visa Requirements for Australian Citizens
Visa Requirements for Singaporean Citizens
Visa Requirements for New Zealand Citizens

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.