Malawi Grants Visa-Free Entry for Nationals of 79 Countries

Malawi relaxes visa requirements for new nationalities. Citizens of, i.a., Australia, Canada, the UK, and the USA, can now travel to Malawi without a visa.
Apply for Malawi visa onlineAPPLY FOR MALAWI VISA ONLINE

Latest news

In an attempt to boost tourism and improve international relations, the Malawi Government has recently announced the relaxation of visa policy for nationals of 79 countries. 

Passport holders from these countries now enjoy visa-free entry to Malawi for visits.

The news was revealed on February 7, 2024, by the Minister of Homeland Security, Ken Zikhale Ng'oma. 

The change in Malawian visa policy is aimed at making Malawi a more accessible destination for international visitors, which can bring a significant boost to the Malawian tourism sector.   

The decision to relax visa requirements for so many nationalities makes Malawi a more open destination, encouraging tourists from all over the world.  

Apart from the visa exemption, the government of Malawi has also announced the extension of the multiple-entry visa to 12 months.  

Visa-Exempt Countries for Malawi 

The updated Malawi visa policy has extended the list of visa-exempt nationalities to 79 different countries.

The recently added visa-exempt countries include the following:

  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • China
  • France
  • Gambia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Russia
  • Sierra Leone
  • The UK
  • The US

Moreover, citizens of countries being members of the following international organizations are allowed to travel to Malawi without a visa, except for those who require citizens of Malawi to have a visa to travel (i.e., they did not make bilateral agreements):

  • Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa)
  • Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Additionally, every government official, diplomat, or traveler holding a Laissez-Passer for any of the following bodies is also allowed to travel to Malawi without any visa:

  • SADC
  • Comesa
  • The United Nations
  • African Union
  • African Development Bank

Non-visa-exempt countries for Malawi

Although some countries can enjoy visa-free travel to Malawi, there are still others whose nationals still require a visa.

Those who do not fall under any of the exemption categories will need to obtain a relevant visa before departure. 

Fortunately, thanks to the introduction of the Malawi e-Visa system, getting a visa for Malawi is no longer a complicated and time-consuming procedure. 

Katarzyna Żyła

Latest news

Sri Lanka Extends Visa-Exemption for 7 Countries
Canada Reimposes Visa Requirements for Mexicans
Vietnam to Expand Visa Exemption Policy
UK ETA Requirement Extended to New Nationalities
Libya Plans to Launch eVisa System

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.

IATA logo

We’re an IATA member

International Air Transport Association (IATA) represents and serves air travel industry with advocacy and global standards for safety, security, efficiency.