Last week India reopened its borders to travellers who fly to the country via chartered flights. The country officials have also announced that regular flights will be restored from November. Following the recent reopening of the country?s borders, the Indian authorities have reviewed the rules for travellers arriving in India. The new restrictions will be effective as of 25th October 2021.

Countries classified under Category A

Travellers arriving from countries with which Indian authorities signed reciprocal agreements regarding WHO-approved COVID-19 vaccines (Category A countries) will be exempt from coronavirus testing upon arrival and home quarantine, provided they are fully vaccinated. Nevertheless, they will be subject to provide a negative RT-PCR coronavirus test and self-check their health condition for 14 days following their arrival in India. Partially or unvaccinated travellers from category A, will be obliged to submit post-arrival COVID-19 test results, undergo a 7-day home quarantine, take another test on the 8th day of stay in India. If the result is negative, a traveller will be still required to self-monitor for another 7 days

List of Category A countries

  • France 
  • Nepal 
  • Germany 
  • Belarus 
  • the UK 
  • Armenia 
  • Ukraine 
  • Serbia 
  • Hungary 
  • Belgium 
  • Lebanon 

List of countries at risk

Travellers from several countries who will arrive in India will be subject to additional screening, including post-arrival testing. The list comprises the following countries: 

  • European countries (including the UK) 
  • New Zealand 
  • Zimbabwe 
  • Mauritius 
  • Brazil 
  • South Africa 
  • Botswana 
  • China 
  • Bangladesh 

Please note: The abovementioned lists were updated as of 20th October 2021. The lists are subject to changes due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation in particular countries. 

Travellers arriving from countries at risk, no matter whether fully vaccinated, partially vaccinated, or unvaccinated, will need to take a post-arrival coronavirus test and undergo a 7-day home quarantine. Moreover, they are required to take a re-test on the 8th day of their stay in India and self-check their health for another week of their stay in the country. 

Rules for travellers entering India by land or sea

International travellers who plan to enter India through land or seaports are subject to undergo the same entry protocol with one single exception. Namely, they cannot use the online registration as it is not yet available for land and sea passengers. For the time being, they will need to complete the self-declaration form upon arrival at one of the seaports or land ports, depending on the selected entryway. 

e-Visa to India

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, India suspended the issuance of visas to international travellers in 2020. Since 15th October 2021, foreigners can apply for an e-Visa to India again. An online visa to India enables numerous entries to the country covering all kinds of tourist activities, e.g., vacation, family visits, exploring Indian sites. e-Visa is issued for one year and allows even up to a 3-month stay in India.

Katarzyna Żyła

Latest news

Thailand to Restore Its Quarantine-free Scheme
Thailand Drops On-arrival Covid-19 Tests from May
Thailand to Drop Pre-arrival COVID-19 Tests for Vaccinated Visitors
Thailand to Remove Most Covid Travel Restrictions in July
Last Update to Thailand's Travel Restrictions Makes Traveling Easier

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.