Cyprus to Make Negative PCR Test Obligatory for All Visitors

Regardless of vaccination status, all visitors to Cyprus now need to submit a negative COVID-19 PCR test. The new regulations came into force on 4th Jan. and will remain effective until 15th Jan. 2022.

Sorry, service currently unavailable for this destination.

Latest news

Cyprus has announced the introduction of mandatory testing requirements for all arrivals to the country, no matter their vaccination status. 

As of January 4th, 2022, all visitors aged over 12 must provide a negative COVID-19 PCR test result that should be taken no earlier than 48 hours before the intended arrival time in Cyprus. 

The testing obligation will remain in place until January 15th

Obligatory testing amid Omicron concern

The decision to introduce mandatory testing for all travelers to Cyprus was caused by the rapid spread of the Omicron variant across Europe and worldwide. 

Since the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic, over 154,000 cases have been confirmed in Cyprus, while over 600 people have died due to the COVID-19, according to the data of the World Health Organization. 

Last week, the Cypriot authorities registered the record number of coronavirus cases - over 5,000 daily infections, many of which were caused by the Omicron. 

Cyprus Flight Pass

In August 2021, the Cypriot government decided to implement the electronic health questionnaire obligatory for every person wishing to enter Cyprus. 

The Cyprus Flight Pass includes all the essential information of every traveler visiting Cyprus. Thanks to the contact details, it is possible to immediately notify the traveler about the possibility of COVID-19 infection risk. 

Travelers need to fill out the Cyprus PLF within 48 hours before setting off for their Cyprus trip. 

Color scheme countries classification

The Cypriot authorities, following other EU countries, classified territories into green, orange, grey, and red groups. Every country is assigned to a certain group depending on the infection rates. 

Travelers from the orange group, including the countries with moderate coronavirus infection rates, were obliged to take a PCR test 72 hours prior to departure. Due to the recent change, the test needs to be performed no earlier than 48 hours earlier. 

The recently updated red list includes the following countries:

  • EU countries: Bulgaria, Croatia, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, France, Ireland, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Malta, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia
  • Schengen countries: Liechtenstein, Norwa, Iceland, Switzerland
  • Microstates: Vatican City State, Andorra, San Marino, Monaco
  • Third countries: Armenia, Argentina, Canada, Belarus, Egypt, Chile, Jordan, Georgia, Peru, Oman, Lebanon, Serbia, Russia, Ukraine, South Korea, United States of America, United Kingdom

Countries classified on the grey list need to obtain a special permit before visiting Cyprus and obey additional requirements like self-isolation.

Katarzyna Żyła

Latest news

Malawi Grants Visa-Free Entry for Nationals of 79 Countries
Vietnam to Expand Visa Exemption Policy
UK ETA Requirement Extended to New Nationalities
Libya Plans to Launch eVisa System
Kenya Introduces Visa-Free Entry for All Countries and Replaces eVisa with...

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.