Malawi Visa Types

Due to its beauty, Malawi is one of the most popular destinations of South African countries, which draws many visitors every year. The Malawi Immigration Service provides six different kinds of visas to accommodate the diverse travelers who come to the country. Usually, the process is quite simple, so you don't need to worry.

You may wonder how you can obtain a Malawi visa and what visa types are available. We can distinguish between a:

  • Diplomatic visa
  • Tourist visa
  • Courtesy visa
  • Official visa
  • Visa on Arrival
  • Transit visa
  • Online visa.

Each of them has its own requirements and characteristics. Read this article to learn more about Malawi visa types and enjoy your peaceful stay.

Malawi e-Visa

An online Malawi visa is a very good option for those who value time as they don't need to visit the embassy to obtain it. It can be used for various purposes like transit, tourism, business, or medical purposes.

We can distinguish between single-entry and multiple-entry electronic visas that guarantee various periods of stay (from 7 days to even 12 months).

When you want to get an online visa, you are required to have a valid passport, digital photo, and access to the internet.

What is more, it is advisable to print the Malawi e-Visa and check all the provided information twice before sending it.

Malawi Visa on Arrival

All visitors who want to travel to Malawi need a visa. One of the available options is a visa on arrival that can be obtained upon entering Malawi. When it comes to the requirements you need to prepare:

  • Valid passport (for a minimum of 6 months) with 2 blank pages
  • Recent, passport-size photo of the face on the white background
  • Additional documents (tickets, invitation letter, cover letter, diplomatic passport, etc.)
  • In case of minors: copy of the birth certificate, letter of consent from guardians/parents, and their passport, proof of legal guardianship (optional).

Besides, you need to pay the required fee to visit Malawi. After arrival, you will get your visa at the airport.

Tourist Visa for Malawi

A Malawi tourist visa can be used only in the case of tourism, business, or residency in Malawi. Its validity period lasts 3 months. Note that it can be used only once as it is a single-entry visa. To obtain it you need to have a valid passport for a minimum of 6 months and 2 recent photos on a white background. Also, you should have yellow fever vaccination proof.

Malawi Official Visa

An official visa is for people who would like to enter Malawi for official business. It is worth to know that they need to have a service, official, or diplomatic passport in order to get the approved visa.

Malawi Transit Visa

If you want to enter Malawi only to get to your final destination, you need a Transit visa that enables you to stay in Malawi for a short period of time as it expires after 7 days. This visa type can be used only once.

Malawi Diplomatic Visa

A diplomatic visa is granted by the Malawi government for those who have a diplomatic passport and need to enter Malawi. It is designed especially for missions or official visits in Malawi. The validity period for this type of Malawi visa is 3 months and it can be used only once.

Malawi Courtesy Visa

This Malawi visa is intended for people invited by the Malawi government who wish to visit Malawi. This visa type is not the same as a Diplomatic visa so keep that in mind. Additionally, you are required to have a valid passport for at least 6 months to be able to visit the country with this Malawi visa.

Important notes:

  • Visa types mentioned above can be classified as transit, single-entry, or multiple-entry visas.
  • Single-entry visas can be used only once and their validity period is 3 months.
  • Multiple-entry visas can be valid for 6 or 12 months and enable travelers to visit Malawi numerous times.
  • A Transit visa is valid for 7 days and is treated as a single-entry option.
Get help
5 days a week from 8am to 4pm (GMT+1)
or send inquiry:

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.

IATA logo

We’re an IATA member

International Air Transport Association (IATA) represents and serves air travel industry with advocacy and global standards for safety, security, efficiency.