Kazakhstan Visa Types

People who would like to travel to Kazakhstan should apply for a visa to avoid difficulties during the trip. It is worth to know that foreigners from some countries are eligible to stay in the country without a Kazakhstan visa but the rest must have it.

We can distinguish a few types of Kazakhstan visas according to their purposes and number of entries (single-entry/multiple-entry visa type). In this article, you will learn more about visas to the Republic of Kazakhstan. Pick the best one for you before your travel and enjoy your stay.

Short-term Stay (Type C)

Short-term visas can be used by foreigners who would like to stay in the Republic of Kazakhstan for non-immigrant purposes. However, the stay can't be longer than 90 days in this case.

Long-term Stay (Type D)

The long-term visa gives the right to visit the Republic of Kazakhstan for a period longer than 1 year as a multiple-entry type.

It could be used for educational purposes (such as studies, exchange programs, or courses), family reunification (however, family members need to have Kazakhstan citizenship), ethnic Kazakhs, former compatriots, for employment, or for investing.

What is more, those who would like to obtain permanent residence in the Republic of Kazakhstan should have BB visa type.

e-Visa for Kazakhstan

It is possible to apply for an electronic visa to travel to the Republic of Kazakhstan. It is a very simple and convenient process as you don't have to visit an embassy. You just need to complete the application form, cover the fee and receive an approved online visa.

Before you apply for this type of Kazakhstan visa, check if you are on the list of eligible countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • The central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo, Democratic Republic
  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Cuba
  • Czech Republic
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Djibouti
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea (North)
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Macau
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Macedonia
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and Grenadines
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (UK)
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • Hungary
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe.

Tourist Visa

Tourist visa, as the name suggests, is used for tourism, sightseeing, and leisure activities. Also, it can be used for visiting friends or family. It is a very popular type of visa among travelers. You can pick multiple or single-entry visa type.

Business Visa

Business visas can be used by foreigners who want to travel to the Republic of Kazakhstan for the business purposes, such as exhibitions, conferences, commercial activities, or meetings. There are a few categories for this visa type:

  • B1 ⁠— multiple-entry (valid for 180 days and granting stay for up to 60 days or with 1-year validity for up to 60 days stay) and single-entry visa (valid for 90 days allowing you to stay 60 days in the country). It can be used for humanitarian assistance, visiting educational organizations, or youth exchange programs.
  • B2 ⁠— this multiple or single-entry visa is for technical support specialists or audit/consulting workers.
  • B3 ⁠— also can be treated as multiple or single-entry but is used by negotiators, board of directors, or members of founding parties.

Educational Visa

An educational Kazakhstan visa can be used for short-term training, internships, or generally for education purposes. It can be single-entry (for a 90-day stay) or multiple-entry (for a 180-day stay).

Cultural/Sports Visa

If you want to visit the Republic of Kazakhstan for sports or cultural activities, you should apply for this type of visa. To obtain it, you need to have a letter of intent and tickets or event schedules.

Transit Visa

If you want to pass through Kazakhstan to reach your final destination, you need to have a Transit visa. It is valid for 5 days and you can stay in the Republic of Kazakhstan for 72 hours with it.

Diplomatic Visa

This Kazakhstan visa is for people from heads of state, international organizations, and governments who have diplomatic status, as well as for members of their families. It could be multiple or single-entry.

Service Visa

Service Kazakhstan visa is for the members of official delegations and people who accompany them.

Visa Exempt Countries

Some countries are eligible to visit Kazakhstan without a visa. Check if your country is on the following list:

  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Uzbekistan.
Get help
5 days a week from 8am to 4pm (GMT+1)
or send inquiry:

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.