Georgia Visa Types

According to Georgia visa policy, citizens of some countries have visa-free movement, but others need to obtain a Georgia visa if they wish to travel to the country. A Georgian visa comes in many types.

According to the number of entries permitted, there is a single-entry visa allowing one entry into the country and a multiple-entry visa for numerous visits.

Depending on the intended time to spend in Georgia, one can apply for a short-term visa or a long-term visa. For example, a tourist visa is a short-term visa, while an immigration visa is a long-term visa allowing its holders to stay in Georgia for a long time and get a residence permit.

Citizens from eligible countries who need to visit Georgia for short-term purposes can apply for an e-Visa through the online visa application process. All that is needed is to submit the form, cover the fee and receive the e-Visa.

For a long-term visa, one has to attend a Georgian embassy and complete a visa application in person.

As for the purpose, there are such types – diplomatic, special, ordinary, immigration, and transit. Follow the article to learn more about each type.

A category – Diplomatic visa

This Georgian visa is granted to foreign diplomats who intend to visit Georgia for diplomatic and official purposes.

The family members of diplomats can join them for the trip via a diplomatic visa of the main holder.

The A1 category is for the top officials of foreign legislative and executive authorities, as well as members of top- and high-level delegations.

The A2 category can be obtained by employees of diplomatic and equivalent missions licensed to Georgia, consular officials, and employees of representation offices of international organizations placed in Georgia with a diplomatic status by Georgia.

The A3 category is given to diplomatic couriers and persons coming to Georgia on a special diplomatic mission.

The A4 category is for honorary consuls of Georgia, while the A5 visa can be owned by persons who have a business/official or ordinary passport and stay in Georgia for different missions in the national interests of Georgia. This also includes individuals with diplomatic passports arriving in Georgia for working visits.

B category – Special visa

The B1 category is designed for foreign delegations members and service passports holders entering Georgia for working visits.

The B2 category visa is issued for consular employees and service personnel of consular offices, administrative, technical, and service staff of foreign diplomatic missions, and employees of international and humanitarian organizations placed in Georgia.

The B3 category is for individuals under international bilateral and multilateral treaties of Georgia, members of peacekeeping forces, and other military contingents deployed in Georgia under an international treaty.

The B4 visa is granted to members of different missions in the national interests of Georgia.

Family members can accompany special visa holders.

C category – Ordinary visa

The C1 category is a tourist visa for travelers who want to stay in Georgia for sightseeing, exploring the country, visiting natural or man-made sites, etc.

The C2 category fits people who travel to Georgia to visit their family and friends, and also for freelancers.

The C3 category is a business visa permitting one to enter Georgia for attending business meetings, workshops, conferences, negotiations, sports, pedagogical, and cultural events. It is also suitable for journalists' activity and co-drivers of international cargo/civil transportation.

The C4 category visa is for individuals going to Georgia for humanitarian assistance during life-threatening situations, for charity activities, for guarding or caregiving, for treatment, for visiting graves of relatives and friends, and for the purpose of pilgrimage.

D category – Immigration visa

The D1 category is designed for foreigners arriving in Georgia for contracted work, carrying out the entrepreneurial activity. With this visa, representatives and consultants of companies can stay in Georgia to perform their official duties.

The D2 category visa is issued for those traveling to Georgia for scientific, sports, cultural, or educational activity; freelance activities; for acting as interns or volunteers; for professional activity as press workers.

The D3 category visa is for people who come to Georgia as part of an international educational program or to study or do research at an accredited educational institution.

The D4 category visa is obtained by individuals who go to Georgia to reunify with their families.

The D5 category visa is for applicants with the right of ownership of real property in Georgia (different from agricultural land). Its market value must be more than USD 100 000 equivalent in GEL.

T category – Transit visa

The T category visa is for travelers who only enter Georgia in order to get to their next destination.

A transit visa to Georgia can be issued for up to 10 days.

Get help
5 days a week from 8am to 4pm (GMT+1)
or send inquiry:

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.