Ukrainian passport travel information

Ukrainian passport currently ranks 34th in the global passport ranking. It offers access to 90 visa-free countries and represents a medium mobility score.

Ukrainian passport holders can get a visa on arrival in 37 countries and an electronic visa to 32 countries.

Since Russia launched its invasion on 24 February, many Ukrainians have had to leave Ukraine for a safer environment. In response, many countries have relaxed their entry and visa requirements for those fleeing the war.

Now Ukraine nationals can enter the EU countries with their valid travel documents and remain there for up to three years without having to apply for a refugee status first.

Visa-free travel introduces Ukrainians to new destinations and opportunities

One of the best things about visa-free travel is that it opens up a lot of new destinations and opportunities.

Places that were once inaccessible are now within reach, and new people and cultures are waiting to be discovered.

Whether you're exploring the ancient ruins of Greece or sampling the local cuisine in Thailand, visa-free travel provides the perfect opportunity to broaden your horizons.

With no tiresome paperwork or queues, you save more energy and get the chance to make new friends from all over the world.

How to get a Ukrainian passport 

An individual can obtain Ukrainian citizenship by birth, descent, naturalization, or marriage.

To apply for a Ukrainian passport, one should:

  • take a passport with the registration number of the taxpayer's account card and come to the "Passport Service";
  • submit the required documents (the application for issuance of the passport, internal passport of the citizen of Ukraine, the state tax payment number)
  • pay for services (on the spot);
  • make a photograph (on the spot);
  • after notification, come to receive the passport.

Now it is also possible to get a Ukrainian passport at the Ukrainian Embassies abroad.

The benefits of going to visa-free countries for Ukrainians

The benefits of traveling to visa-free countries are excellent:

  1. The most obvious is that it saves time and money. There is no need to experience a lengthy visa application process, and there are no visa fees to pay.
  2. This can make spontaneous trips much more possible. Traveling without a visa makes it easier to change plans at the last minute. If you need to cancel or extend your trip, you won't have to worry about losing your visa or being charged a fee.
  3. Visa-free travel also helps to avoid stress, as if you don't need to apply for a visa, there is no possibility of being rejected. When traveling visa-free, you can be certain that you will be able to enter the country as long as you have a valid passport. This can give you peace of mind when planning your trip.

90 countries where Ukrainian passport holders travel without a visa

Now, because the Russian Federation has invaded Ukraine, many Ukrainians have to leave their home and seek shelter in other countries.

If you have Ukrainian nationality and a biometric passport, you can enter the EU by presenting your passport at the border.

Ukrainian citizens can be granted temporary protection (do not confuse it with refugee status) in one of the EU member countries and stay there for an extended period of time.

However, temporary protection doesn't provide visa-free access among the Schengen area countries after using the allowed 90 days.

Some countries, for example, the US, UK, and Canada, have announced visa concessions to support Ukrainians.

Visa-free countries with Ukrainian passport

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City

Ukrainian citizens are able to enter 37 countries with a visa on arrival and 32 countries with an eVisa.

Visa on arrival countries

  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Egypt
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Palau
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Electronic visa countries

  • Bahrain
  • Benin
  • Cambodia
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mexico
  • Myanmar
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


How to find out if your destination is visa-free?

Your destination is visa-free if it is on the list of countries not requiring a visa.

What should you have if your destination is not a visa-free country?

If your destination is not a visa-free country, you should obtain a required type of visa - a visa on arrival, an electronic visa, or a regular visa.

What to know before traveling to non-visa-free countries

If you are going to travel to a visa-free country, you should prepare all the necessary documents to avoid any travel delays or complications:

  • find out which visa you need - an eVisa, a visa on arrival, or a regular visa;
  • you are not always required to attend an embassy, you may be eligible for getting a visa on arrival or applying for an online visa from any place at any time;
  • your passport must be valid at least six months from the arrival date;
  • you must have the necessary documents on hand as at customs borders officials will check them and decide if you can enter the country.

Is it important to do research about different visa requirements ahead of time?

Research ahead of time is an essential thing to do, as only this way can you ensure that you have all the necessary documents and avoid any travel issues. If you don't meet entry requirements, you may be fined, entry-denied, or even banned from entering the country.

Bogdan T

Visa Requirements for Indonesian Citizens
Belgium Passport Visa-Free Countries
Visa Requirements for Australian Citizens
Visa Requirements for Singaporean Citizens
Visa Requirements for New Zealand Citizens

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.

IATA logo

We’re an IATA member

International Air Transport Association (IATA) represents and serves air travel industry with advocacy and global standards for safety, security, efficiency.