Travel with a Spanish passport 

Spanish passport is one of the strongest passports in the world. It has a very high mobility score and grants its holders great travel freedom.

It ranks 3rd in the global passport ranking and provides access to 118 Spanish visa-free countries, including Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United Arab Emirates.

Spanish passport holders can get an on-arrival visa in 37 countries. 34 countries also issue electronic visas. Some other countries can be entered with a required visa type.

Now it is possible to get Spanish citizenship (and eventually a passport) in four ways - by residency, option, descent, and marriage.

Visa-free travel lets Spanish citizens explore the world and cultures

Traveling visa-free allows Spanish passport holders to make new friends and explore more places and locations.

When there are no barriers to entering a country, they can really explore the world and meet new people without worrying about visa requirements.

Visa-free access also allows Spanish citizens to stay in each country for longer periods of time, visit more countries overall, and experience different cultures in a more authentic way.

This way, they will have more opportunities to communicate with locals and make new friends among them.

Spanish citizenship and passport: how to obtain 

In order to apply for a Spanish passport, you must get Spanish citizenship first. It is possible by four options:

  • residency - after 2,5 or 10 years of living in Spain with a residency permit;
  • option - for a person under 18 whose parents are Spanish nationals;
  • descent - for grandchildren and great-grandchildren of Spanish citizens;
  • marriage - by getting married to a Spanish citizen.

To apply, you must prepare all the required documents and submit your application. After waiting for about 1 year, you will get your resolution and then have to realize the pledge of allegiance. 

Eventually, you can go to any police station and get your passport. 

Reasons for Spanish citizens to travel visa-free

Visa-free travel is an excellent opportunity for Spanish travelers for a number of reasons:

  • they don't have to apply and wait for a visa, so they save time;
  • it also saves money, especially if they need visas for several countries, as visa application fees would add up and create a big sum;
  • it eliminates the stress of the visa application process, so they don't worry about the trip that much;
  • it allows them to visit many countries in a short period of time.

118 countries where Spanish passport holders don't need a visa

Spain passport visa-free countries

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman

Also, there are 37 countries where Spanish citizens can get an on-arrival visa, and 34 countries for which they can apply online.

Visa on arrival countries

  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Comoros
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Electronic visa countries

  • Angola
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Benin
  • Cambodia
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • India
  • Iran
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Myanmar
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


How to learn if your destination is a visa-free country?

Look up the list of visa-free countries for the passport of your citizenship. If your destination provides visa-free access, it will be present there. You can also call an embassy for the most recently updated information.

What if your destination is not a visa-free country?

If you found out that your destination is not on the visa-free list, you should check all visa requirements for your destination and citizenship to know if you are eligible for visas and if yes, get the necessary type of visa.

Tips for smooth travel to non-visa-free countries

Traveling to non-visa-free countries is not as hassle-free as being visa-exempt, but these tips will certainly help you:

  • research entry requirements and apply for a visa way beforehand to be sure that you will have it ready on time;
  • if you're eligible for an electronic visa, consider applying for this one type, as it is the easiest way to get a visa;
  • when filling out an application form, double-check the information to avoid errors;
  • make sure your passport won't expire within six months from the arrival date;
  • it's advisable to have paper copies of documents just in case.

Do you need to check the visa requirements for all your destination countries?

One of the most important things before traveling is to check the visa requirements for all your destinations. It may include the necessity of getting additional documents to apply.

Moreover, even when you successfully enter a country, you still have to comply with the rules, e.g. you are not allowed to work under a tourist visa and often can't leave the transit zone under the transit visa.

Bogdan T

Visa Requirements for Indonesian Citizens
Belgium Passport Visa-Free Countries
Visa Requirements for Australian Citizens
Visa Requirements for Singaporean Citizens
Visa Requirements for New Zealand Citizens

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.

IATA logo

We’re an IATA member

International Air Transport Association (IATA) represents and serves air travel industry with advocacy and global standards for safety, security, efficiency.