EU Council to Approve Extension of EU Digital COVID Certificate Until June 2023

The EU Council extends the European Union's Digital COVID Certificate until mid-2023. Some changes will be introduced to adjust it to the evolving coronavirus situation in the world.

Sorry, service currently unavailable for this destination.

Latest news

The EU Council has announced the extension of the European Union's Digital COVID Certificate until mid-2023. The decision to extend EU Digital COVID Certificate by another year was announced on March 11.

According to the Council, the Digital COVID Certificate has played an important role in facilitating the free movement during the coronavirus pandemic.

The principle of gradual removal of travel restrictions as long as the epidemiological situation allows it is still applicable.
The Council has decided not to remove the Digital COVID Certificate since the coronavirus is still prevalent across the EU Member States

Some changes in EU Digital COVID Certificate

The Commission has also suggested some changes to the certificate in order to adjust it to the evolving situation worldwide. The changes concern including all doses in a vaccination certificate, regardless of the place of its administration.

It will facilitate the Member States to issue certificates for fully vaccinated persons (those who have received booster shots after nine months from the date of receiving the second dose of COVID-19 vaccine).

Moreover, travelers will now be able to obtain recovery certificates based on a positive antigen test report, which so far has not been accepted. 

And the last change regards obliging the Commission to provide a detailed report on the certificate by February 2023.

The decision will become fully effective if Council and the EU Parliament reach an agreement under the ordinary legislative procedure before the current certificate regulations expire. 

Countries participating in the EU COVID Digital Certificate System

The certificate was introduced in mid-2021 and since then those vaccinated against COVID-19, recovered from the virus, or those tested negative have been able to travel more freely across the EU. The European Union has also recognized on the same terms the certificates issued by other non-EU 30 world countries. 

Currently, there are 62 countries participating in the system, including:

  • 27 EU member countries
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Benin
  • Cabo Verde
  • El Salvador
  • Faroe Islands
  • Georgia
  • Israel
  • Iceland
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Togo
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • The United Kingdom and the Crown Dependencies (Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man)
  • Uruguay
  • The Vatican
Katarzyna Żyła

Latest news

Thailand to Restore Its Quarantine-free Scheme
Thailand Drops On-arrival Covid-19 Tests from May
Thailand to Drop Pre-arrival COVID-19 Tests for Vaccinated Visitors
Thailand to Remove Most Covid Travel Restrictions in July
Last Update to Thailand's Travel Restrictions Makes Traveling Easier

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.