Canada Extends eTA Eligible Countries to 13 New Nationalities

Canadian Government aims at attracting more international visitors. 13 new countries have been added to eTA eligible countries.

Latest news

As of 7th June 2023, the Canadian government extended the list of countries that can enjoy visa-free travel to Canada.

13 new countries can now visit the country simply using the Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) system.

The eTA system significantly facilitates entry to the country since travelers no longer need to apply for a visitor visa.

The application for eTA Canada is a matter of hours, or sometimes even minutes, while applications for a visitor visa most often involve long weeks of waiting.

Canada Electronic Travel Authorisation: How it works

eTA Canada is the travel authorization obtainable entirely online that can be used to travel to Canada for the purpose of tourism, business, or transit.

A holder of a valid eTA is allowed numerous stays in Canada, each of them can last up to 6 months. The permit remains valid for 5 years from the date of issue.

Currently, citizens of 57 countries that are visa-exempt and 10 British overseas territories must apply for an eTA before arriving in Canada by air.

eTA is not required when a person arrives by land or sea, i.e., by bus, car, boat, or train.

Among the eligible countries, there are all EU passport holders as well as nationals of Monaco, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Switzerland, Norway, the UK, and Vatican City State. 

Until now, Brazilian citizens were the only ones who could apply for eTA Canada under special conditions - they need to have held a Canadian visa in the past 10 years or a valid US nonimmigrant visa

Now, 13 new countries have been added to the list and must follow the same requirements as Brazil

13 new countries eligible for eTA Canada

The 13 previously visa-required countries that can now enjoy the eTA program, along with Brazil, include the following:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Benefits of online application for Canadian eTA

The Canadian government's decision was aimed at facilitating air travel for the number of international travelers who, until now, had to go through a complicated and time-consuming visa application process.

The visitor visa application requirements are way more complicated than the requirements for eTA Canada. 

The visitor visa requires uploading numerous documents, including the applicant's fingerprints and photograph.

Moreover, when the result is positive, the applicant's passport must be sent for stamping. In total, the entire process may take even up to a few weeks.

When applying for eTA, an applicant simply needs to provide their personal information, passport data, and some essential travel details and cover the processing fee.

The approved eTA is next delivered straight to their email inbox. 

Katarzyna Żyła

Latest news

Malawi Grants Visa-Free Entry for Nationals of 79 Countries
Vietnam to Expand Visa Exemption Policy
UK ETA Requirement Extended to New Nationalities
Libya Plans to Launch eVisa System
Kenya Introduces Visa-Free Entry for All Countries and Replaces eVisa with...

Evisa Express uses cookies and similar technologies for statistical and analytical purposes to optimize usage. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. If you do not change the settings, cookies will be saved in your device's memory. Cookie Policy and Terms of Service.