Latest travel updates and advice related to Coronavirus outbreak

Coronavirus - visa & travel update

Latest update: 10.07.2020

As a result of the 2019–20 coronavirus pandemic, many countries and regions have imposed quarantines or entry bans for citizens or visitors of the most affected areas of the pandemic. Please find below the latest travel updates and coronavirus travel advice.


From 18 March 2020 foreign nationals from all countries are barred from entering Canada.

There is still a possibility to apply for an eTA since its validity lasts for 5 years or until the passport expires.

As of June 8, 2020, 23:59 EDT, foreign nationals who are immediate family members (definition below) of Canadian citizens and permanent residents, and who do not have COVID-19 or exhibit any signs or symptoms of COVID-19, and who have no reason to believe they have COVID-19, will be exempt from the prohibition on entry to Canada if entering to be with an immediate family member for a period of at least 15 days. Foreign nationals who are admitted into Canada pursuant to this exemption must quarantine for 14 days. An immediate family member refers to a person's:

  • spouse or common-law partner
  • dependent child or a dependent child of the person's spouse or common-law partner
  • parent or step-parent or the parent or step-parent of the person's spouse or common-law partner
  • guardian or tutor

These measures are in effect until at least

  • July 21, 2020, for travellers coming directly from the US
  • July 31, 2020, for all other foreign nationals


Due to the coronavirus pandemic (SARS-CoV-2), citizens of all countries have been temporarily deprived of the possibility of crossing the Australian border. The mentioned restriction does not concern citizens' permanent residents of Australia and the members of their closest families. In any other case, one of the enlisted requirements needs to be met:

  • I am an immediate family member (spouse, de facto partners, dependent child or legal guardian) of an Australian Citizen or Permanent resident. I need to travel to Australia now
  • I have a compelling or compassionate request to travel to Australia now
  • I want to transit through Australia
  • I want to travel to Australia for urgent medical treatment/medical evacuation
  • I have a critical skill and want to travel to Australia now

There is still a possibility to apply for an eVisa since its validity lasts for 1 year or until the passport expires.

Sri Lanka

eTA system is currently not available. All types of visa issuance to enter Sri Lanka and ETA already granted to all countries/ nationalities have been temporarily suspended.

United States

Entry to the United States for EU citizens and for UK citizens is not eligible.

The option to apply for ESTA travel authorization is still possible, but the US government has currently blocked the entry into the United States from 13/03/2020.

In addition to the United States' Europe travel ban, the restricted US-Canada and US-Mexico borders and restrictions imposed by the US on arrivals from Iran and China, the European Union has closed its external borders for 30 days.


From 25 March 2020 foreign nationals from all countries are barred from entering Bahrain.

The Kingdom of Bahrain will suspend the issuance of visas on arrival for all nationalities.


eVisa system will be a temporary suspension until 30th June 2020.


eVisa system is currently not available for foreign nationals from all countries. From 31 March, Cambodia won't issue visas on arrival, e-visas or visa exemptions.


Egypr will reopen all its airports for scheduled international traffic on July 1. Travelers from countries with high rates of coronavirus infections, based on World Health Organization (WHO) assessments, need to be tested before coming to Egypt.


From 12 June, the Turkish government has begun to reopen its international land, sea and air borders.

It is possible to apply for an eVisa.

Saudi Arabia

The government of Saudi Arabia suspended all international flights, inbound and outbound.

It is possible to apply for an eVisa. However, please be aware of the restrictions above.


eVisa system is currently not available. Oman has suspended visas on arrival for all foreign travellers.


Entry by foreigners from any country with reported COVID-19 cases will be suspended.


From 18 March, the Vietnamese Government will cease issuing visas to all foreigners for 30 days. From 22 March, the Vietnamese government has suspended entry to all foreigners, including people with a Vietnamese visa exemption certificate. Foreigners arriving in Vietnam will be made to return to their point of embarkation.


eVisa system is currently not available.


eVisa system is no longer available for 45 days from 12/03/2020.


The Government of Tanzania lifted the suspension of international scheduled and non-scheduled passenger flights into and out of Tanzania.

You no longer need to quarantine for 14 days if you travel to Tanzania, but you'll be subjected to enhanced screening for COVID-19 when entering or leaving.

Coronavirus travel advice
Coronavirus travel update